Sports Hall of Fame » 2008


Renee Hanson - 1990 graduate (track)
1980 Football Team
This team went 6-2 in the regular season and shared the Greene County League Championship with Springfield Catholic. The team qualified for the postseason as a result of a technicality in the MSHSAA playoff system used at that time. With only three days to prepare, the team defeated Stockton in the first round and then beat Appleton City to advance to the state semifinal. The Wolves' season ended with a loss to Lexington.
The team was coached by John Emmons with assistants John Burkett and Glen Aversman. Team members included Pat Bowen, Larry Bowen, Dane Cantwell, Tim Connell, Keith Crone, Lanny Curnes, Tim Emerson, Mike Emmons, Todd Fouts, Steve Gaddy, Jeff Garthoff, Jim Gryzmala, Mike Hole, Gerald Jenkins, Darrin Olson, Mark Ladon, Ivan Martinsen, John Miner, Charlie Owen, Dave Parker, Dave Pestle, Ken Piotrowski, Warren Propst, Don Reed, Randy Richardson, Jay Ruby, John Ruby, Eric Schoenborn, Greg Smigla, Dallas Traynor, Willie Wegner, Curtis Wood, Erik Wood, and manager Geddy Akers.